The purpose of the Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry is to stimulate fundamental research in biological chemistry by scientists within 10 years of their last postdoctoral training.


The winner of the Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry will be given presented with a bronze medal and honorarium.


The Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry was established in 1934.


Nominees shall have accomplished outstanding research in biological chemistry of unusual merit and independence of thought and originality. No more than 10 years shall have passed since the nominee completed his/her last period of postdoctoral training by April 1, 2025 and he/she shall be actively engaged in the line of research for which the award is made. It is the responsibility of the nominator to ensure that the candidate meets this timeline, and the nominating letter must state this. This prize cannot be made to a person who received another award sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company for the same technical accomplishment.


Nominators can submit the candidate’s curriculum vitae with a list of publications and a letter explaining his/her special achievements (as a PDF) to DBC Secretary, Chris Whitman, at the address given below. Additional letters of support for the candidate are desirable.  Applications must be received on or before the deadline.

All materials should be sent via email to:
Christian Whitman
University of Texas

Deadline:  Application deadline for 2025 award is June 15, 2024.


Joseph Cotruvo, Jr.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Pennsylvania State University
Lab Website

Cotruvo is being recognized for his seminal discoveries in the area of the f-block, rare earth element (REE) sensing and biology. His group has described fundamental features of REE coordination chemistry by proteins, and their role in microorganisms. These discoveries have enormous technological implications for the ability to recover specific REEs from electronic waste and other sources, processes of widespread interest to multiple US federal agencies, including the Department of Defense. He has also leveraged these discoveries to engineer what is the first robust manganese-specific biosensor that will be used to uncover novel aspects of Mn(II) biology in cells and disease. Learn more.


A full list of Eli Lilly Award winners (1935-2021) can be found here.


Christian Whitman
Division Secretary
University of Texas