The Bristol Myers Squibb Award in Enzyme Chemistry aims to recognize a prominent scientist whose research accomplishments in biochemistry or chemical biology are unusually significant and far-reaching. The Award is administered by the Division of Biological Chemistry (DBC) of the American Chemical Society (ACS) and generously sponsored by Bristol Myers Squibb.


The winner of the BMS Award in Enzyme Chemistry will be given a $5000 honorarium. They will present an award lecture at the Fall ACS National Meeting and will organize a symposium (four speakers total) focused on the research interests of the awardee.


The award was established in 2023 with the generous support of Bristol Myers Squibb.


We are seeking nominations from individuals whose discoveries are, or will be, translational in nature, impacting the biotechnology industry and over the longer term, human health. There are no age or career stage criteria associated with this award. Nominations are encouraged for individuals in industry, academia, or any other career track involving independent research.


To apply, submit the candidate’s curriculum vitae including a list of publications and a nomination letter outlining their specific achievements. Additional letters of support (up to three) for the candidate are desirable, though not required. BMS award application materials should be submitted as a single PDF to the division secretary.

Deadline:  Application deadline for 2024 award to be announced.


Craig Crews
John C. Malone Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Yale University
Lab Website

The Crews lab focuses on developing Proteolysis Targeting Chimera (PROTAC), a new ‘controlled proteolysis’ technology that overcomes the limitations of the current inhibitor pharmacological paradigm. Learn more.


Christian Whitman
Division Secretary
University of Texas